High Sheriff of Cumbria

Alan McViety, 2022/2023

Current High Sheriff

Alan McViety High Sheriff of Cumbria 2022/2023 in full ceremonial dress
Alan in ceremonial dress as High Sheriff of Cumbria

I was born in Penrith and have lived in the Eden Valley all of my life never more than 10 miles from Penrith. Whilst rooted in Cumbria I have travelled extensively but always looked forward to returning home and have lived in my current house for almost 40 years.

My wife, Marie, is a former magistrate who chaired both adult and youth courts for 21 years, she also sat on appeals in the Crown Court. After attaining a bachelor degree in law LLB (Hons) she studied for a master’s degree (LLM) in International law specialising in Human Rights and Humanitarian law. Together we have 3 grown up children and 6 grandchildren.

I was educated at High Hesket primary school and after passing the 11plus moved to Penrith Queen Elizabeth Grammar School where I became deputy head boy.

After leaving school I trained as Chartered Accountant and was one of the founding partners of a local firm of Chartered Accountants. When we started there were 3 of us and 8 clients, when I retired in 2018 we had 170 staff and annual fee income in excess of £7M. I am now fully retired but have been granted life membership of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

I have been a trustee of Voluntary Action Cumbria for almost 20 years, a director of Appleby Community Enterprises for 10 years and I was trustee of Appleby Training and Heritage Centre for 20 years until its closure in 2020. I have recently become a governor at Appleby Grammar School.

I am an active member of Appleby Rotary club having held the posts of president, secretary and currently treasurer. During my time in Rotary I have taken part in an aid convoy to Mali, which included visiting Timbuktu, and have been on an excursion to the most northerly Rotary club in Russia, Murmansk. This together with my community work earned me a Paul Harris Fellowship.

Undersheriff Tim Cartmell

Julie Barton High Sheriff in court dress and Tim Cartmell Undersheriff
Undersheriff Tim Cartmell with High Sheriff of Cumbria 2020/21, Julie Barton

Tim Cartmell has served Cumbria in the voluntary role of Undersheriff since 2013. Born in Cumberland, Tim read law at Cambridge and spent the next 40 years as a Carlisle solicitor. He is also a trustee and vice chair of Cumbria Community Foundation.

As Undersheriff, Tim has a vital role in providing wise counsel and continuity. He brings knowledge and considerable experience of all things relating to protocol and ceremonial matters which is a huge support to each High Sheriff in office.

Chaplain Julia Powley

Julia Powley Cumbria High Sheriff Chaplin 2022/2023
Julia Powley Cumbria High Sheriff Chaplin 2022/2023

Julia Powley is Cumbrian born and bred, growing up in Cockermouth where her family has roots going back over 300 years. She studied for her first degree in modern and medieval history at St Andrews University, before qualifying as a chartered accountant in Carlisle. She became a partner at Dodd and Co, specialising in large companies and charities.

In 1997, she resigned from the partnership and went to work with St James Church in Carlisle. Julia trained for ordination at Ridley Hall in Cambridge and was ordained in 2009. She is currently vicar of Harrington and Distington and  is involved with the selection of candidates for ordination both locally and nationally. She has served on the governing bodies of five schools, and was a trustee of the Kepplewray Project in Broughton in Furness for many years. More recently she has been a trustee of Distington Big Local.

Julia is honoured to be able to support Alan McViety in his year as High Sheriff, rekindling ties which go back many years.

The Office of High Sheriff of Cumbria

The county of Cumbria was created in 1974. Cumbria is made up of the former shrievalties of Cumberland and Westmorland as well as former parts of Lancashire and the West Riding of Yorkshire.  Below is a list of the previous High Sheriffs of Cumbria.

  • 2021: David Beeby of Cockermouth
  • 2020: Julie Barton of Ulverston
  • 2019: Marcia Reid Fotheringham, JP of Brampton 
  • 2018: Simon Frederick Michael Berry of Windermere 
  • 2017: Alistair G M Wannop of Carlisle
  • 2016: The Rev’d (Group Captain) T Richard Lee of Egremont
  • 2015: Samuel Alan Miles Rayner of Kendal
  • 2014: Martyn Peter Telford Hart of Carlisle
  • 2013: Diana Matthews of Windermere
  • 2012: Juliet D J Westoll, MBE of Longtown
  • 2011: Iona A Frost-Pennington of Ravenglass
  • 2010: James Ronald Carr of Warwick-on-Eden
  • 2009: Elizabeth Honor Susan Thornely of Windermere
  • 2008: Graham William Lamont
  • 2007: Claire Theresa Hensman
  • 2006: Robert Lawie Frederick Burgess
  • 2005: Dr Adam Charles Illingworth Naylor of Lowick
  • 2004: Frederick Charles Theodore Markham of Morland, Penrith
  • 2003: Antony Richard Leeming of Skirsgill Park, Penrith
  • 2002: David William Trimble, of Dalston, Carlisle
  • 2001: Robert Bryce Hasell-McCosh of Dalemain, Pooley Bridge, Penrith
  • 2000: The Lady Hothfield, Drybeck Hall, Appleby
  • 1999: Arthur Ian Bullough, of Brampton
  • 1998: Simon Philip Pease of Kirkby Lonsdale
  • 1997: John Henry Fryer-Spedding, OBE, of Keswick
  • 1996: Henry Charles Fraser Bowring, of Barbon
  • 1995: Hugh William Lawson, of Carlisle
  • 1994: Frederick John Richard Boddy, of Burton
  • 1993: Margaret Washington
  • 1992: Myles Christopher Ross Sandys, of Graythwaite Hall, near Hawkshead 
  • 1991: Ian Cufaude Carr, of Brampton
  • 1990: Thomas Peter Naylor, of Ambleside
  • 1989: Major Timothy Richard Riley, of Penrith
  • 1988: Roger Brockbank, of Kendal
  • 1987: William Victor Gubbins, Esq., of Penrith
  • 1986: Major Nigel James Clarkson Webb, of, Burton-in-Kendal, 
  • 1985: Major Antony James Robinson Harrison, of Carlisle
  • 1984: Edward Peter Ecroyd, of Carlisle
  • 1983: Peter Eric Fyers Crewdson of Kendal
  • 1982: William John Montague Chaplin of Finsthwaite 
  • 1981: Timothy Ross Fetherstonhaugh, of, Penrith
  • 1980: Charles Henry Bagot, of Levens Hall
  • 1979: Stafford Vaughan Stepney Howard, of Greystoke Castle, Penrith
  • 1978: Richard Hugh Cavendish, of Holker Hall
  • 1977: Edward Hubert Fleming-Smith, T.D., of Hawksdale Hall, Dalston, Carlisle
  • 1976: Joseph Hugh Harris, of Calthwaite, Penrith
  • 1975: Michael Charles Stanley, M.B.E., of Halecat, Witherslack, Grange-over-Sands
  • 1974: George Nigel Fancourt Wingate, O.B.E., of Bridge End House, Cockermouth

I hope you find the information in this website both interesting and informative. You may like to visit The High Sheriff Association to learn more about the Office of High Sheriff  www.highsheriffs.com 

© Copyright High Sheriff of Cumbria 2022/23  |   Privacy Policy   |   Cookies   |   Photography © Copyright Andrew Bayliff   |   Design: lilcreativestudio.co.uk